The German Language Trail

Where language comes alive...

... You may embark on an exciting cultural expedition across Central Germany. Many treasures await your discovery on the German Language Trail. Have fun on your journey!

These regions are the core of where German is spoken. Places that are of present and past significance with regards to the German language are located in the states of Saxony, Saxony-Anhalt, Thuringia and Northern Bavaria. Here in these regions the cradle of High German can be found and this is due to the Sächsische Kanzleisprache (the language of the Saxon Chancery) and the reformer Martin Luther. This is where great authors have lived and worked and where festivals, language days and competitions about the German language are held. The German language is being preserved and is actively used in theaters and read aloud festivals. You will be surprised!

On your holiday travel along the trail which combines historical points of interest pertaining to the German language and famous tourist sites. We will be happy to help you with some suggestions during your treasure hunt. There is a lot to discover, so there is one thing we cannot promise: that you will be at a loss for words.

Tracing the History of the German language

Did you know that the German language is over 1200 years old? Today, it is the most widely spoken language in Europe with approximately 100 million native speakers. German is the mother tongue of every fifth European and is spoken as a foreign language by every seventh European. German is the official language in seven countries and in the European Union. Moreover, worldwide, twelve percent of all books published are published in German.

The German language is the key to education, integration and participation in German society. The beauty and expressiveness of German has inspired poets and thinkers alike. German is unique and offers a special view of the world.

Get to know these hospitable places that have made their mark on this rich cultural language! There are especially many of them in Central Germany and Northern Bavaria. They are all linked by the German Language Trail.

This is where great minds enriched the German language: Konrad Duden, Gotthold Ephraim Lessing, Martin Luther, Johann Wolfgang Goethe, Friedrich Schiller, Gottfried August Bürger, Paul Gerhardt, Eike von Repgow, Novalis, Friedrich Rückert, Jean Paul, August Graf von Platen and many more. This is the place where the first language society, The Fruitbearing Society, was founded in 1617 and where the oldest and longest established language and literature society in Germany, the Pegnitz Flower Society, was founded in 1644. Discover these traces of history on the German Language Trail!

“Language is a means of transport;
just as much as the railroad transports goods from
Leipzig to Dresden, language transports
thoughts from one mind
to another.”

Wilhelm Ostwald

Straße der deutschen Sprache

Wo Sprache lebendig wird …

... Können Sie auf eine spannende kulturelle Entdeckungsreise durch Mitteldeutschland und Nordbayern gehen. Entlang der „Straße der deutschen Sprache“ gibt es viele Schätze zu entdecken. Wir wünschen Ihnen dabei viel Freude.

Dieser Teil Deutschlands ist das Herzstück des deutschen Sprachraums. In Sachsen, Sachsen-Anhalt, Thüringen und Nordbayern finden Sie dicht aneinandergereiht Orte, deren Vergangenheit und Gegenwart bedeutsam für die deutsche Sprache sind. Hier steht die Wiege des Hochdeutschen: dank der Sächsischen Kanzleisprache und dank des Reformators Martin Luther. Hier wirkten große Schriftsteller. Hier finden heute Festspiele, Sprachtage und Wettbewerbe für die deutsche Sprache statt, wird in Theatern und Lesefesten die Sprache besonders gepflegt und erlebbar gemacht. Lassen Sie sich überraschen!

Reisen Sie auf der ersten Ferienstraße, die Sprachpflege und Fremdenverkehr miteinander verbindet. Gern geben wir Ihnen Anregungen bei Ihrer Schatzsuche. Es gibt viel zu entdecken, daher können wir eines nicht versprechen: dass Sie sprachlos sein werden.

Auf den Spuren der deutschen Sprache

Wußten Sie, daß die deutsche Sprache bereits über 1200 Jahre alt ist? Mit rund 100 Millionen Sprechern ist sie heute die am meisten gesprochene Muttersprache in Europa. Jeder fünfte Europäer spricht sie als Muttersprache, jeder siebte als Fremdsprache. In sieben Staaten und in der Europäischen Union ist Deutsch Amtssprache. Zwölf Prozent aller weltweit veröffentlichten Bücher erscheinen in deutscher Sprache.

Die deutsche Sprache ist der Schlüssel zur Bildung, zur Integration und zur Teilnahme an der deutschen Gesellschaft. Die große Ausdruckskraft der deutschen Sprache und ihre Schönheit haben Dichter und Denker beflügelt. Sie ist einzigartig und bietet einen besonderen Blick auf die Welt.

Lernen Sie die gastfreundlichen Orte kennen, die diese reiche Kultursprache maßgeblich geprägt haben! In Mitteldeutschland und Nordbayern gibt es besonders viele davon. Sie haben sich durch die „Straße der deutschen Sprache“ miteinander verbunden.

Hier bereicherten Geistesgrößen die deutsche Sprache: Konrad Duden, Gotthold Ephraim Lessing, Martin Luther, Johann Wolfgang Goethe, Friedrich Schiller, Gottfried August Bürger, Paul Gerhardt, Eike von Repgow, Novalis, Friedrich Rückert, Jean Paul, August Graf von Platen und viele andere. Hier entstanden der erste deutsche Sprachverein, die Fruchtbringende Gesellschaft von 1617, und die älteste bis heute kontinuerlich bestehende Sprach- und Literaturgesellschaft Deutschlands, der Pegnesische Blumenorden von 1644. Ihre Spuren finden Sie auf der Straße der deutschen Sprache.

„Die Sprache ist ein Verkehrsmittel;
so wie die Eisenbahn die Güter von
Leipzig nach Dresden fährt, so transportiert
die Sprache die Gedanken von einem
Kopf zum anderen.“

Wilhelm Ostwald